Down and Out in the Dominican Republic

Its slow season

Restaurant’s plummeted from a 25-40 person a night average to about 10 if we’re lucky. Such is the life and season in the Caribbean nowadays.

Used to be high season all the way till september, but since the world economic crises belts are tightening and luxury vacations to the DR seem like theyre the first thing to go.

Still, things at the rez are good. That place has become a second home to me, the guys there are priceless, it really is a good team. What they lack in culinary knowledge and consistency they make up in simply being good guys. For a little I was frustrated that the menu, while good it just seemed a little…I dunno, standard french fare? kind of traditional? pick your term, but know I understand that Chef Romain is limited by the abilities of his team. I’d like to think that I contribute to upping the overall culinary ability of the team because atleast Ive undergone rather rigorous training but if theres one thing im learning is that I still got a lot to learn.

Fortunately Im a fast learner.

I’m good friends with the late shift bar guys. Some times after work, I just can’t stay in my room, I got to go out and have a beer even if its at an empty bar. We’ve gone through a lot, the bar guys and me, we’re a pretty tight knit group, loosely speaking. Tonight, a group of prostitutes walked in with some older caucasian dudes. I mean….c’mon, can you be more obvious. Two white haired white men walking in with two gorgeous dominican ladies, they’re definitely not going upstairs to read bible verses. We were taking bets on how far they would get. They got pretty far, Securities usually pretty tight, but we must’ve had a newbie on watch tonight because they got as far as the lobby bar before they got stopped by a nervous guard summarily kicked out. No Pros in Punta Cana Beach Resort. Strict policy.

On to a more personal matter. Im up to 176lbs, thats 10lbs too big. I have to lose the weight soon. Exercise and dieting, exercise and dieting.NO BREAD. BREAD IS THE ENEMY.

Leave a Reply

